Volume 1 Issue 58 – Secondary Skills

RFI has returned from their Gen Con hiatus, to bring you your weekly dose of 1st Edition AD&D goodness. We talk about our Gen Con experience and have an extended edition of Sage Advice. We then talk about the usefulness of secondary skills and how to flesh out your characters with them. We weight in on Level Limits in Game Mechanics. The Kamadan is the feature of Creature Feature Theater. Then we find a Ring of Telekinesis in The Dragon’s Hoard. We have all of this and more in this weeks Roll For Initiative.

Intro – 0:00.000
Roll For Initiative Website www.rfipodcast.com
Roll For Initiative Twitter www.twitter.com/rfipodcast
Roll For Initiative Facebook Page http://www.facebook.com/RFIpodcast
OSR Gaming Forums www.osrgaming.org
RFI Actual Play http://rfiactualplay.tk/
D20 Radio Forums http://www.d20radio.com/forums/
DM Vince’s Blog http://www.theevilgm.com/

Sage Advice – 20:47.048
Seeking Sage Advice? Contact RFI via our call in line 570-865-4210 or
Via E-mail RFIStaff@gmail.com

Table Manners – Secondary Skills – 39:19.165
Dungeon Master’s Guide pg 12

Game Mechanics – Level Limits 47:49.638

Creature – Kamadan 58:43.035
Fiend Folio pg 55

The Dragon’s Hoard – Ring of Telekinesis 1:04:10.000
Dungeon Master’s Guide pg 131

Outro – 1:09:23.835

2 comments on “Volume 1 Issue 58 – Secondary Skills”

  1. Anthony N. Emmel


    I know there’s not a lot of “Unearthed Arcana” love from y’all, but UA p. 79-80 has the rules for what # of spells it holds, has travelling versions, dimensions, and costs based on spell contained.

  2. Baronzemo

    Was just wanting to get your opinion on a rule.
    Now in the Dungeon Masters Guide on page 28 it reads ” It is assumed that an appropriate type of head armoring will be added to the suit of armor to allow uniform protection of the wearer. Wearing of a “great helm” adds the appropriate weight and restricts vision to the front 60′, but it gives the head AC 1. If a helmet is not worn, 1 blow in 6 will strike at the AC 10 head, unless the opponent is intelligent, in which case 1 blow in 2 will be aimed at the AC 10 head ( d6 1-3= head blow)”
    This is a little used rule. Every thief I have played or GM’d, the thief wore leather armor but not a helment. Now, lets say the thief was wearing a +1 suit of Leather Armor, would this give his or her expossed head a AC 9? What if a thief was wearing a +1 suit of Leather Armor and had a dex. modafier of +2. The theif would have a AC of 5 but a head AC of 7?
    Keep up the GREAT WORK and roll high!!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.